And so it begins…

1

June 23, 2012 by annalarissa

So My fiancé Chris and I moved to Astoria, Queens just three short weeks ago after he received a job offer to be a Wall St. analyst and there has yet to be a dull moment since!

Queens, a borough of New York City, aka the Big Apple, is the perfect mix of suburb and city for us, it’s safe and (relatively) quiet, while full of children and schools and local food and bakeries (OH THE BAKERIES!). We are getting to know the neighborhood more and more every day and I’ve become absolutely addicted to the local fresh food market.

The street we live on the corner of also houses hundreds of shops, lunch spots, cafes and hole in the wall diner-esque restaurants fully equipped with burnt coffee and sassy waitresses popping their gum. We also live just blocks from the N and Q trains, providing us with a quick ride right into the city.

Short side note: According to an awkward run in Chris had with a homeless guy, the N Train stands for NICE PEOPLE.

Our apartment is the most perfect little nest I could have ever asked for! Dark hardwood floors, spacious bedrooms, lots of cabinet space and get this, we have a DISHWASHER. So why yes, it is the Taj-Mahal of New York apartments (and it had better be with the amount of work we did to get into this place).

We are also very happy to be living with my cousin, Teresa, first cousin from my father’s side. She is working in the advertising industry and was happy to cut her almost-two-hour commute down to 30 minutes. She is the best roommate we could have ever asked for and our living situation is seriously like a classic episode of Friends (which Teresa and I watch religiously).

This adventure is a first for all of us, our own place and the first away from home. We have our own bills to pay, our own furniture, our own cleaning to do — we’re grown ups now, this is for real.

Now I’m going to complain. I am unemployed and it sucks. So, to make up for the fact that I am not making any money, but I still have to get out of the apartment at some point everyday I tend to head our for lunch, and I refuse to spend more than $5 on lunch every day. I also refuse to eat at the same place more than once simply because I want to discover new places every day. This has been an adventure in itself, but it’s been a lot of fun!

I’ve (just) decided that if I stumble upon a really tasty place I will shine a spotlight on it in a post called, “Better than a $5 footlong” so be on the lookout for those because they will be incredible (Teresa uses this word all the time, it’s rubbing off on me!)

Til’ next time–

 

 

One thought on “And so it begins…

  1. Melissa says:

    Love reading about your episodes in New York. Keep up the good work and agree with you about not eating at the same place twice doubt you will for a long time!

Leave a Reply

